She Reads Truth XI – Finale


wpid-IMG_20130308_040551.jpgPHILLIPIANS 4:10-23 NKJV

But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last your care for me has flourished again; though you surely did care, but you lacked opportunity. Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Nevertheless you have done well that you shared in my distress. Now you Philippians know also that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church shared with me concerning giving and receiving but you only. For even in Thessalonica you sent aid once and again for my necessities. Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that abounds to your account. Indeed I have all and abound. I am full, having received from Epaphroditus the things sent from you, a sweet-smelling aroma, an acceptable sacrifice, well pleasing to God. And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Now to our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen. Greet every saint in Christ Jesus. The brethren who are with me greet you. All the saints greet you, but especially those who are of Caesar’s household. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

“Do All Things”

Oh Philippians 4:13! Lord, help us to really get it. For Your Glory.

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. Lord, help us not to cheapen this passage by casually muttering it before quickly muttering something that you may or may not have called us to. When we really see it, in context, in light of Paul’s life – it means so much more. It CAN mean so much more to us.

Paul is talking about need and abundance, He can take hunger or plenty when the Lord is the One is strengthening Him. And we can walk in the same way. And that truly means so much more to me than knowing I could run a mile in under ten minutes or achieve all my personal financial goals.

We serve a God who doesn’t just save us from our sin, doesn’t just redeem our life from the pit, He also says – Hey, whatever life situation I hand you for the sake of my glory: if it’s plenty, if it seems like not enough, if it’s easy or rough – I’m going to give you the strength to get through it. Because I love and because that’s the best way for it to happen and you can trust Me.

Woosh. That’s good stuff.

You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you.

This article courtesy of the She Reads Truth community!

Leave a Reply

